OSC appoints seven new members to Investor Advisory Panel

By The IJ Staff | June 20 2017 11:30AM

Photo: Freepik

The Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) has announced seven new members of its Investor Advisory Panel (IAP), as well as the appointment of a new Chair.

The role of the IAP is to advise and comment on proposed rules, policies and investor protection initiatives, while considering the views of a broad range of investors, said the OSC in a statement issued June 19.

Letty Dewar appointed Chair

The appointment of Letty Dewar as Chair of the IAP became effective June 1. She has served on the IAP since 2014. Dewar has been active in the financial industry since 1984. Her experience includes financial planning, Group RSP product design, compliance and operations.

Jacqueline Allen, Larry Bates and Malcolm Heins each began two-year terms as members of the IAP effective June 19. Paul Bates, Patti Best, Neil Gross and Harvey Naglie will each begin two-year terms as of Nov. 1.

Voice for investors

“The IAP is an important voice for investors in the regulatory process, and new members were selected to ensure that the Panel continues to represent a broad range of relevant experience, skills, knowledge and perspectives,” says the OSC.

Biographical information on all IAP members is available here.

Related to the same topic …