Members Appointed to National Financial Literacy Committee

By Andrew Rickard | August 04 2014 07:25AM

The federal government has appointed members to its new financial literacy committee.

On July 30, Minister of State for Finance Kevin Sorenson and Financial Literacy Leader Jane Rooney announced the fifteen members of the newly created National Steering Committee on Financial Literacy. They are appointed for a two-year term and were chosen from a group of more than a hundred applications.

Committee members are to provide advice on issues related to financial literacy and champion the cause within their respective sectors. The newly appointed members are:

Camille Beaudoin, Autorité des marchés financiers

Leslie Byrnes, Canadian Life & Health Insurance Association

Laurie Campbell, Credit Canada Debt Solutions

Terry Campbell, Canadian Bankers Association

Shelley Clayton, University of New Brunswick Financial Aid Office

Mary Condon, Ontario Securities Commission

Pat Foran, CTV News

Suzanne Gendron, Mouvement Desjardins

Terry Goodtrack, Aboriginal Financial Officers Association of Canada

Kelley Keehn, Financial author

Cary List, Financial Planning Standards Council

Elizabeth Mulholland, Prosper Canada

Andrew Nicholson, Financial and Consumer Services Commission of New Brunswick

Gary Rabbior, Canadian Foundation for Economic Education

Cairine Wilson, Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada

"We know that when Canadians have the right financial knowledge, they can make wise financial decisions, strengthening our entire economy," commented Sorenson. "That’s why the Harper Government is committed to strengthening the financial literacy of Canadians and the members selected for the National Steering Committee on Financial Literacy reflect the wide spectrum of experience and expertise needed to accomplish that goal."