IIROC elects new board of directors

By The IJ Staff | September 26 2019 12:26PM

The Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) announced that five new directors were elected or re-elected at IIROC’s annual general meeting in Toronto on Sept. 24.

Eight directors will continue to serve the second year of their two-year terms. The newly elected and re-elected dealer director board members are Holly Benson, vice president of finance and CFO of Peters & Co. Limited and Tim Mills, senior vice president, treasury market and liquidity risk management with CIBC.

Luc Fortin, president and CEO of the Montreal Exchange and global head of trading with the TMX Group is re-elected as a marketplace director. The board’s elected and re-elected independent directors are Michele Colpron, corporate director with three different organizations and Shenaz Jeraj, chief information officer for Capital Region Housing Corporation. Paul Allison will continue to serve on the board as a dealer director and chair for the second year of his current two-year term.

Mills and Jeraj succeed Rita Achrekar and Brian Heidecker who have left the board. A search is also currently underway to find a successor for Lucie Tedesco who also recently left the board.

"We are pleased to welcome our new Directors, and grateful for Brian, Lucie and Rita's counsel and service to IIROC," Allison says in a statement released Wednesday. "Their work contributed to the stability and continuity of our Board and IIROC has been fortunate to have benefitted from their contributions."

Related to the same topic …